Scientific Advisory Board

Jonathan Brodie

Jonathan Brodie, PhD, MD, is a professor of psychiatry at New York University School of Medicine. Dr. Brodie completed his BS in chemistry as a Ford Foundation Scholar and his PhD in Physiological Chemistry (Organic Chemistry minor) at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. He was an NIH postdoctoral Fellow in Biochemistry at Scripps Clinic and Research Foundation and a tenured associate professor of Biochemistry at the School of Medicine at SUNY at Buffalo. He decided to study medicine and received his MD at New York University School of Medicine, where he joined the faculty after completing his residency in psychiatry at NYU/Bellevue Medical Center. His subsequent research efforts in neuroimaging, schizophrenia, and neuropharmacology were recognized by a Solomon Berson Distinguished Alumni Award of the NYU School of Medicine for his contributions to basic medical science. He has served as a member of the Promotions and Tenure Committee of the School of Medicine as well as a member and Co-Chair of the Executive Advisory Committee of the General Clinical Research Center and Interim Chairman of the Department of Psychiatry, as well as the Protocol Review Committee of the Center for Advanced Brain Imaging (CABI) of the Nathan Kline Institute and on many NIH study sections. For 15 years, he was the NYU Director of the Brookhaven National Laboratory/NYUSoM collaboration investigating the use of positron emitters and PET in neuroscience and psychiatry. In addition, Dr. Brodie currently serves as a psychopharmacology preceptor to psychiatry residents. As a clinician, he treats patients in general issues of adult psychiatry including anxiety and depression.

Robert D. Fechtner

Robert D. Fechtner, MD, is Professor and Chair of Ophthalmology at SUNY Upstate Medical University, Syracuse, New York. Dr. Fechtner received his Bachelor of Science degree in biomedical science and his medical degree from the University of Michigan. He completed his residency at Albert Einstein College of Medicine in New York. A fellowship in glaucoma followed at the University of California, San Diego, under a National Research Service Award from the National Institutes of Health. Dr. Fechtner is the Executive Vice President of the World Glaucoma Association and has published more than 100 scientific articles and book chapters.

Eugene Laska

Eugene Laska, PhD, is a professor in the Department of Psychiatry at New York University School of Medicine and the former Director of the Statistical Sciences unit at the Nathan S. Kline Institute for Psychiatric Research. He has published more than 140 peer-reviewed articles and has edited 3 books. Dr. Laska is a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and the American Statistical Association. He has served as a consultant to many pharmaceutical companies, large and small, with regard to statistical analysis and clinical trial design.

Richard B. Silverman

Richard B. Silverman, PhD, is the Patrick G. Ryan/Aon Professor in the Department of Chemistry at Northwestern University. He is the inventor of Pfizer’s $4.5 billion/year Lyrica® (pregabalin), marketed worldwide for the treatment of epilepsy, neuropathic pain, fibromyalgia, pain from spinal cord injury, and (in Europe) for generalized anxiety disorder. He has received numerous awards, most recently American Chemical Society Creative Invention Award (2017), Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors (2014), Fellow of the American Academy of Arts & Sciences (2014), iCON Innovator Award of the iBIO Institute (2014), Northwestern University Trustee Medal for Faculty Innovation and Entrepreneurship (2014), Medicinal Chemistry Prize of the Israel Chemistry Society (2014), Fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry (UK, 2013), Centenary Prize of the Royal Society of Chemistry (2013), Bristol-Myers Squibb-Edward E. Smissman Award of the American Chemical Society (2013), Sato Memorial International Award of the Pharmaceutical Society of Japan (2012), Fellow of the American Chemical Society (2011), E.B. Hershberg Award for Important Discoveries in Medicinally Active Substances from the American Chemical Society (2011), Perkin Medal from the Society of Chemical Industry (2009), Medicinal Chemistry Hall of Fame of the American Chemical Society (2009). Dr. Silverman holds 75 patents, has published over 350 peer-reviewed articles and has written 5 books over his almost 41-year career in academia. Complete details of Dr. Silverman’s achievements can be found at